2012 Reviews

Did you just return from Wil-deer-ness Cabin? Click here and let us know all about your stay!

Here is what others had to say about their stay in the Wil-deer-ness...

2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010

Sarah W. of South Carolina
December 23-30, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your cabin with us!  Our WEEK long visit is exactly what we needed and the cabin was PERFECT!  We never left!  It was very special to spend our Christmas here! We loved how secluded the cabin was.  We were looking to get away from "everyday" life and this was it!  The hot tub was perfect on those chilly days and nights.  It was nice to be able to walk to the river.  Also being able to bring our dog was GREAT! We will definitely be back.    

Nicole M. of Florida
December 17-23, 2012
We had an incredible time!  This was our families first official Family Vacation.  It will definitely be memorable!  Your home is beautiful and very clean.  It was everything we hoped it would be from the hikes to my daughter's 1st snowfall.  We hope to come back soon!  Thanks so much!  

Lauren & JC B. of NC
December 14-16, 2012
We had a great getaway weekend.  The details in the cabin were amazing & kept a smile on our faces the whole time.  Thank you for sharing your space with us.  The hot tub was perfect after our long hike.  We can't wait to come back.  You know everyone's happy when you can tell the doggies are smiling.  

Justin H. of North Carolina
Nov 30-Dec 3, 2012
We had a wonderful and relaxing visit.  It was so nice to get away and enjoy a long weekend in your cabin.  This was our second visit and was just as fantastic as our first.  We'll be back! 

Christina & Corey
and
Bill & Angie M. of Georgia
November 21-25, 2012
We had a wonderful time.  Very relaxing and loved the hot tub!  Hope to come back next year!

Thank you.  You have a very nice place here.  We enjoyed our holiday here.

Jesse & Carolyn B. of NC
November 17-21, 2012
This is our 4th visit, and of course we love coming to the cabin and the area.  We always find new things to do and enjoy returning to some of the shops in town.  The cabin is very accomodating, comfortable and clean.  Just what we look for.  We will be back.

Francy M. of N. Carolina
November 2-4, 2012
Wasn't sure after Sandy (hurricane) we would be able to come.  We made it!  Had wonderful time.  I am so relaxed and hot tub is the best.  Hope to return soon!

Kris & Krista D. of Florida
October 22-28, 2012
After extensive research, we decided on the Wil-deer-ness Cabin for our honeymoon...and it did not disappoint!  The cabin was beautiful and the scenery outdoors was breathtaking.  It was great to drink coffee on the porch in the cool mountain air.  The hot tub was AMAZING!!  It was so tranquil just relaxing outside and listening to nature.  We saw many deer in the clearing - there were 8 one night!  The towns of Jefferson & Lansing were so quaint - great shopping and food!  We are already planning our next trip! :-)  Thank you for everything!

Vijay D. of North Carolina
October 18-21, 2012
This was our second stay at the cabin and once again we loved every minute of it. This time, we had a chance to really enjoy the hot tub with this kids and the fire pit as well.  Our stay was in late October so we had a chance to really enjoy the moderate weather and the changing leaves. Wonderful trip! We loved the cabin and can't wait to book our next stay!! Thanks again :)

Al S. of North Carolina
October 11-14, 2012
Another wonderful visit!  Thank you so much.  Everyone had a wonderful and relaxing stay.  Until next time.

Joe & Kristi M. of NC
October 4-6, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful cabin with us!  We spent our 4 year wedding anniversary in complete relaxation.  In fact, the only time we left was to grab supper in downtown West Jefferson!  Hot tub was GREAT!  Hope to come back very soon!  Thanks again.

We loved how secluded the cabin was!  It was such a peaceful and relaxing vacation!  Wish we could've stayed longer and hope to next time!  We loved all of the decor...the owners have truly thought of every little detail to make your stay wonderful...we even had a mug of candy and a sweet card waiting for us when we arrived!  We absolutely loved the hot tub and the outside speakers too!  We will definitely be back!

Teresa B. of North Carolina
9/28-10/1, 2012
We really enjoyed the fire pit and the absolute quiet.  It was very relaxing.  The beds were very comfortable and warm.  Thank you for a wonderful long weekend!  We enjoyed the comforts of home while being so far away!  The fire pit was awesome.  We went canoeing down the New River and enjoyed hike on the Blue Ridge Pkwy.  Thank you so much!  We had a blast!

Jenell H. of North Carolina
September 16-22, 2012
We loved the cabin and love the area.  We fished everyday even in the rain and really got into the trout at the SoHo.  The hot tub was a real treat after several full days of fly fishing!

David & Kim H. of NC
September 6-9, 2012
The cabin was wonderful, very clean and secluded.  I am a deer hunter so I enjoyed the decor.  We rode Harley's every day and the jacuzzi was a plus for relaxation.  I liked all the posted notes throughout the cabin as they were very helpful.  We will be back in the future......VERY NICE.

My husband and I travel to the NC mountains twice a year and out of all the places we have stayed your Wil-deer-ness Cabin is #1 on our list.  Thanks for offering such a wonderful retreat!

Stan & Sherry D. of NC
August 31 - Sept 3, 2012
This is our 4th stay here.  Enjoyed it as always.  It was nice getting away & relaxing.  Thanks for renting out your cabin to us.  We will be back for sure and we will tell others too!

The things we liked most were:  Relaxing, getting away from work a couple days.  Hot tub is great.  Trying new food places.  Drinking coffee, hot chocolate was nice on the front porch.  The cabin is real clean and we like the area it is in.  Close to town and the owners are very nice people to deal with too.  

Chris B. of North Carolina
August 27-30, 2012
We had a great stay!  This was the 2nd time we have visited.  This time we brought our four year old daughter...she had a blast.  We relaxed & went shopping.  We plan on coming back for future vacations.  We will recommend this place to family & friends!  Thanks for having such an awesome vacation cabin!

Lisa R. of North Carolina
August 24-26, 2012
What a great place to celebrate our 20th anniversary!  The cabin is so well kept and decorated with much attention to detail.  We really appreciate the anniversary basket and swans on the bed.  How thoughtful!  Loved the hot tub, especially the changing lights.  We saw a deer one morning out in the yard & watched it until it saw us & ran away.  Thanks again for making this place so special.

The things we liked the most were:  the solitude of the cabin, the hot tub, seeing a deer in the yard one morning.  Going to Phipps General Store on Fri. night for music--excellent!  Downtown West Jefferson and the cheese factory.

Ralph & Debbie M. of NC
August 18-21, 2012
Off the paved road & onto a gravel road, up a steep gravel drive and you'll find a wonderful little cabin.  Walk onto the front porch and sit in one of the rockers...close your eyes & experience the silence & peace & joy.  No hustle bustle, no deadlines to meet, or calls to return or emails to write.  Get out the stationery & write a letter & if you're really blessed it will rain!  All you'll need is a wonderful book, a hot cup of coffee and  a warm blanket!  Those are the gifts (except the rain - God gave that) my husband gave me for our 40th Anniversary.  A magical destination!  Thank you for your investment into the joy & peace of strangers!  May the Lord Bless you & keep you & make His face to shine upon you!

Pam F. of North Carolina
August 15-18, 2012
We loved the cabin!  Decorated so cute!  We canoed down the New River, visited W. Jefferson & Jefferson & thought they were both adorable!  Saw a deer, built campfires, threw horseshoes & loved coffee on the cool mornings - on the porch!  We liked the privacy and quietness of the place. Went to relax and that we did. Loved the front porch, the decor, the fire pit and jacuzzi. We had perfect weather too. We will visit again! Maybe in the winter so we can use the gas logs and pray for snow.  Heaven on earth!  Let us know when you're ready to sell - we want to buy! 

Yvette & Robert R. of NC
August 13-15, 2012
We had a great time at your cute cabin!  We enjoyed the campfire, hot tub, and cornhole!  We canoed one day and had a blast.  Thank you so much for letting us stay here!  We plan to come back!

Stephanie S. of N. Carolina
August 1-5, 2012
It was nice to have the kitchen well stocked with gadgets, pots, pans, etc.  We did not eat out, I cooked.  We enjoyed the peaceful solitude.  I have a very high stress job so it was nice to unwind and have NO phones for a few days.

Christy O. of N. Carolina
July 28 - August 1, 2012
We had a wonderful time in your adorable cabin!  We ate at Fraser's our first night and enjoyed the food and beer on tap.  We had a great camp-fire and made s'mores and told ghost stories.  We enjoyed your cornhole set and played every day.  We loved our morning coffee on the porch in the cool morning temps.  We tubed for 3 hours at Zaloo's Canoes and had dinner that night at Shatley Springs (OMG - best food ever!!)  Yesterday we hiked and picnicked at Mt Jefferson State Park.  We thank you for letting us stay.  We hope to come back!

Jim S. of North Carolina
July 23-27, 2012
We had a great time at the cabin.  The cabin is very nice and the location is very quiet.  It was a very nice vacation.  We went to Grayson Highlands in search of ponies, we went tubing and kayaking the New.  Wonderful scenery, great atmosphere.  To you or whoever decorated the cabin, very nice job!  Hoping to come again soon.

Rich F. of Virginia
July 19-22, 2012
We had a fabulous time!  What a wonderful place that you have there.  The cabin was beautiful!  It was everything promised and more.  We really enjoyed the peace and quiet and it was located not very far from a lot of attractions.  It was in a great location that afforded privacy without having a lot other cabins or places nearby, like you'd find at most cabin rental places.  It was so nice to be able to kick back and relax and enjoy the atmosphere.  It was really nice to enjoy sitting on the front porch and hearing NOTHING!  Beats the city any day!  And it was just the right size place to enjoy, being neither too big, or too small.  I'm sure that not only will we be back, but I think this is headed toward a several times a year booking for us!  Thank you again for providing such a wonderful accommodation that was perfectly off the beaten path.

Gayle B. of North Carolina
June 30-July 7, 2012
Our first time here - not the last!  Celebrating our 6th Wedding Anniversary.  J&J Chophouse in Jefferson - a must!  Black Jack's Pub & Grill good food!  Enjoyed the antique shops.  Hot tub's Great!  Great Memories - until next time!

Kathy C. of North Carolina
June 23-30, 2012
Another great Anniversary week at Wil-deer-ness Cabin.  Were finding our way around more and theirs lots to see & do within a reasonable driving time.  Our first time playing bean bag toss.  Visited Mt Jefferson, Cascade Falls, Doughton Park, shopped West Jefferson---love the bead store & cheese factory.  Saw deer on the ridge and a turtle.  We really enjoy the privacy and location of your great cabin.  This is our second year and it won't be our last.  Our favorite thing is the hot tub.  We also enjoy sitting on the porch rockers and reading or just listening to nature.

Jackie K. of Virginia
June 17-23, 2012
What can I say- We LOVED everything about the cabin, location, cleanliness, hot tub, even the beds were comfy!  Thank you for having such an amazing cabin for us to enjoy our vacation.  While we stayed here we went to Grayson Highlands Park - Did a 3 mile hike to see the wild ponies.  They came right up to us, the girls were thrilled!  We also hit Boone - a beautiful little town with fun stores - we ate at Hob Nob - amazing, fresh, organic, cash only kind of a place.  We went fishing, swimming and sat around the campfire and did some stargazing.  Hopefully we will be back soon.  Thanks for all the memories!

Kevin H. of North Carolina
June 15-17, 2012
Over the years I have rented a few cabins and this one was by far setup the best of any one I have stayed at.  Really enjoyed our stay and we also are looking forward to coming back soon.

Brittani S. of North Carolina
June 8-10, 2012
We had a lovely time at the cabin, it's one of the nicest we've stayed at. We're looking forward to our next adventure here :-)

Michael L. of Tennessee
June 2-5, 2012
We liked the decor of the bedroom and loft...we loved everything.  This place was beautiful, peaceful and clean...we will be returning!  Thank you for letting us enjoy your little piece of paradise.  We had a GREAT time.  Can't wait to come back.  Perfect honeymoon getaway.

Jesse & Carloyn B. of NC
May 29 - June 2, 2012
This was our third stay and we loved it as much as our other two.  There is so much to offer that everytime we come we can do something different.  This time we went to a different part of the New River for our canoe trip and also went to Roan Mountain.  One section already had rhododendrons in bloom, unusual for late May.  We enjoy the local shops and also our day trip to Boone.  The cabin is always clean and comfortable.  We look forward to our next trip!

Stacy D. of Illinois
May 24-27, 2012
We enjoyed the jacuzzi and hammock and the interesting views.  Woho!  And went to Jefferson park to see a waterfall.  Had an awesome time, beautiful cabin.

Tim & Tricia P. of NC
May 21-24, 2012
Thank you so much for the opportunity we had to stay in your Wil-deer-ness Cabin.  It was a wonderful retreat for us!  We really enjoyed the quiet & seclusion.  We appreciate the fair price on the cabin.  Everything was just as described.  We do plan to visit again, possibly when it's cooler so we can take advantage of the beautiful fireplace!  Thanks again for your graciousness.

Alan A. of New Jersey
May 13-20, 2012
Will be back!

Jan D. of North Carolina
May 10-12, 2012
Came to visit relatives and to go to a graduation.  The cabin is lovely.  Enjoyed the hot tub. Beautiful setting.

Jose V. of North Carolina
May 4-6, 2012
We came to Wildeerness Cabin to celebrate a birthday.  We had a wonderful time and enjoyed all of the amenities it has - especially the peacefulness and tranquility.  We plan to come back soon for a longer visit!  Thank you for having us.

Sherry H. of North Carolina
April 20-28, 2012
Had a little trouble finding it, but we are so happy we found it.  Just like the cabin in my dreams.  I love the "animal heads" hanging on the walls.  I love my animals!  Thank you for renting us the cabin.  Wed, Apr 25 - This morning while doing dishes after breakfast, a deer walking on the ridge of the moutain from the kitchen window was seen.  Was so beautiful & was not alerted at all to our human sounds in the cabin.  Thank you so much for sharing your sweet cabin with us.  I will contact you for my future stays in the wonderful moutains of NC.  It was great, and the baskets were perfect too, and the beautiful roses.

Mikie M. of South Carolina
April 17-20, 2012
We had a good time.  We wish we could stay longer.

Gary & Connie P. of NC
April 11-13, 2012
Wonderful cabin adventure!  We loved it!  Thanks.

Monica E. of N. Carolina
April 7-11, 2012
Great cabin - Great get-a-way.  We will be back.  Thanks

Shane B. of North Carolina
April 4-6, 2012
We had a wonderful time at your cabin!  We stayed put, rained off & on both days...we enjoyed every second.  You have a beautiful and cozy place that provided everything we needed for the perfect Spring break vacation for our kids.  We hope to be back again!

Steve & Rebecca C. of North Carolina
March 30-April 1, 2012
What a lovely place to celebrate our anniversary!  I hope we will be back soon!  

P.S.  No bears, but we did see a runaway horse!

Evie D. of Florida
March 26-29, 2012
This place is too cool.  Very clean & well maintained.  We had a great time & the jacuzzi was awesome.  Thanx a bunch

Fran V. of Florida
March 22-25, 2012
The cabin was perfect. You had everything you could need for an excellent time. Looking forward to our next stay

Alfonso M. of N. Carolina
March 19-22, 2012
All I can say is that this vacation was everything we were wishing for.  The cabin was more than we expected.  We spent much needed family time together & were charmed by the neighboring town.  We hope to be back at least once a year :-)

Clark & Sandra B. of S. Carolina - March 7-9, 2012 Loved our 3rd visit here.

Joseph & Tamara P. of North Carolina
March 2-4, 2012
Let me start off by saying what a beautiful place you have in the mountains! We absolutely loved it and you have thought if everything, inside and out!! Our family had a great time, it was a surprise trip from my husband for my birthday, and my only complaint to him was that it wasn't long enough!! :-)

The whole decor, inside and out, was fantastic. Attention to every detail, very cozy yet roomy for our family. So nicely laid out, including the driveway and the fire pit area. Loved relaxing in the hot tub, cooking in the little alcove, just everything was great! Spent some time in W. Jefferson shopping and buying cheese, and went to Mast General Store in Boone. I just can't wait to go back!

Don C. of North Carolina
February 22-24, 2012
Great cabin & location, had a wonderful time, love to come back sometime.

Derrick & Tracy R. of Georgia
February 16-20, 2012
We had a wonderful birthday celebration for the love of my life!  We felt so comfortable and cozy here.  Phipps store on Friday night was fun!  Thanks, we will definitely come back.  Jacuzzi was such an extra treat also!

Andrew & Debbie D. of North Carolina
February 13-15, 2012
He surprised me with a wonderful mountain retreat.  It was the BEST Valentines Day ever!  It's so peaceful and quiet here; we were able to relax and really enjoy being together.  The hot tub got a lot of use - wish we had one at home!  We loved it here.

Kelley S. of North Carolina
February 3-5, 2012
Best Birthday ever!  With the love of my life in a cozy place.  Thanks!

Vijay D. of North Carolina
January 26-29, 2012
Your cabin is wonderful and we had the most amazing time. We are already plotting our next trip out there and hope that we can stay at your cabin again.  We loved how clean the cabin felt when we checked in. The hot tub was incredible and the fire pit was fun for the kids. The owners seem to have thought of everything. Little notes were located everywhere that made it simple to operate all of the appliances, etc. My 4 year olds loved spotting the random little things in the woods that the oweners have hidden such as little faces on the trees and the stuffed animal bears on the branches. I loved how we were able to plug in our MP3 player and have music playing through the outdoor speakers! The seclusion of the cabin make this place a hidden treasure! Just sit in the hot tub with a glass of wine and gaze up at the stars....wish I could be there now. The place was perfect :)

GG & Al of North Carolina
January 19-22, 2012
Had a great weekend.  The cabin "ROCKS".  Hope to come back when there is snow.  Thanks for a wonderful time.

Jenell H. of North Carolina
January 2-6, 2012
We really enjoyed the amenities that your cabin offered. The location is one of my favorite areas in the NC mountains. My husband & I needed some down-time after the long illness and death of my father on December 5th and the fun (but hectic) holidays. Thanks so much for sharing your cabin with us! The bed in the master bedroom was extremely comfortable!! The hot tub was immaculately clean and we enjoyed it thoroughly during the cold weather. Fraser's was an excellent restaurant and we really enjoyed our meal. Thanks again for sharing!

Scot H. of North Carolina
Dec 29, 2011 - Jan 1, 2012
The cabin was adorable.  Enjoyed time with family, games, & sitting around the fire.  Snow & deer would have made it a perfect trip.

2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010


Home/Amenities | Calendar | Rates | Specials | Photos | Videos | On-Site Activities | Area Attractions | Packages | Cabin Comparison | Reviews | Location | Reservations | Contact Us